Academic honors and graduation speakers announced

New system honors the top 15% of the Senior Class


Photo submitted

The graduation ceremony for the Class of 2021 will take place at Brunette Park.

Jake Langdon, Reporter/Videographer

As the graduation ceremony approaches, the list of academic honors and the names of student speakers have been released. 

This year the school has shifted from the use of valedictorians and salutatorians to recognize outstanding academic achievement Instead the school has implemented a new system similar to the university level, coining the top 15% of the Senior Class with summa cum laude (highest recognition), magna cum laude (next highest recognition), and cum laude (final level recognition). 

Principal Mrs. Julie Barthel wrote in an email, “This model allows us to capture more students than we did with the valedictorian/salutatorian model.  While this model captures the top 15%, we recognize that Cathedral has many more high achieving academic students. We have students attending prestigious and Ivy League schools, yet they are not on this list. This is a true testament to the amazing success of our Cathedral students.”

Those who earned summa cum laude include Preston Avery, Kyleigh Braun, Grace Delgado, Abygail Dravis, Lauren Dubbink, Madeline Elson, Matthew Fiedeldey, Nathan Fiedeldey, Maura Flood, Eric George, Kieran McCauley, Isaac Michael, Taylor Prince, Anna Shea, Will Teasley and Levi Wojtalik. 

Those who earned magna cum laude include Toby Bradshaw, Lauren Frank, Claire Griffin, Anne Marie King, Tom Kress, Yinny Lim, Rhiannon Braeger, Meghan McCarthy, Corrine Melloh, Katherine Trimble and Erika Weed.

Those who earned cum Laude include Sarah Casper, Megan Cerar, Kevin Collins, Andrew de las Alas, Joseph Egan, Aris Inkrott, Kendall Jones, Gabe Keltner, Ethan Marasco, Kim Mattingly, Lloyd Sage, Ellie Schnur and Morgan Vukovits. 

Among these honorees, select seniors will play key roles during the Commencement ceremony on May 23 at Brunette Park. These include the opening prayer by Madeline Elson, the introduction of distinguished guests by Abygail Dravis, the student Commencement address by Lauren Dubbink, the introduction of faculty speaker by Isaac Michael, the closing prayer by Kieran McCauley and the Irish blessing by Levi Wojtalik.