State press association honors publications

Megaphone, Cathedran named Hoosier Star finalists


Megaphone Staff

The Indiana High School Press Association has named both the Cathedral newspaper and yearbook 2017 Hoosier Star finalists.

Out-of-state judges evaluate high school yearbooks and newspapers for the press association, which is located at Franklin College, to determine Indiana’s top student publications based on criteria that include the quality of writing, editing, photography, coverage and design.

Cathedral’s publications enter Division II for schools with enrollments between 1,001 and 2,000. Other high school newspaper Hoosier Star finalists include Columbus North, Connersville, Greenwood, Munster, New Albany, Mooresville, Plainfield, Plymouth, Richmond and Roncalli. Yearbooks from Columbus East, Floyd Central, Munster, New Albany, Plainfield and Roncalli join Cathedral’s yearbook in being named a finalist.

Current Megaphone co-editors seniors Catherine Jasper and Jenna Williams also edited last year’s newspaper that earned Finalist status. Megan McEntire ’16 and Valerie Moore ’16 were the co-editors of the 2016 Cathedran that was recognized.

This marks the fourth consecutive year the newspaper, the Megaphone, and the yearbook, the Cathedran, have earned Hoosier Star finalist status. Based on another round of judging, Hoosier Star winners will be announced at the state high school press convention on Nov. 20 at Franklin College.

With its newspaper and yearbook earning honors, Cathedral is one of only five high schools in Division II to have both its student publications recognized.