Director announces year-end marching band awards

McCullough: “We will be back and ready to go in 2020-2021”


Cathedran file photo

The pep band performs at a basketball game in the Welch Activity Center.

Megaphone Staff

Director of Bands Mrs. Kathy McCullough has announced the names of this year’s Pride of the Irish marching band award recipients.

McCullough said, “This was quite a memorable year, from a great band camp to our ‘Can’t Stop Us’ field show at football games and ISSMA Festival Contest, from our spirited Open House presentation to our annual Christmas concert, from pep band performances at girls’ and boys’ basketball games to our great Senior Night presentation to honor our band seniors, from District and State solo and ensemble, to a record number of Cathedral band students selected to the Ball State University High School Honor Band, this band rocked.

“Oddly enough, we never marched a parade, (with) both big parades canceled this year, one due to  weather and one due to the pandemic, so next year’s parades will be something new for half the band. We were ready for Hawaii in May, but were able to reschedule the trip to October, so we will still be able to perform twice in Honolulu and at Pearl Harbor to make a memorable fall break for our band students.

“Thank you to our 17 seniors and all our outstanding student musicians. We will be back and ready to go in 2020-2021.”

Four-year band awards: Marco Acevedo, Joshua Bean, Aaron Cotton, Claudia Darnell, Anthony DeSanto, Patrick Downey, Ethan Downs, Myhea Hollingsworth, Joseph Khonwai, Scarlett Mena, Benjamin Munoz, Veronica Newtonm, Jacob Overstreet and Edwin Perez.

Color Guard captains: Claudia Darnell and Myhea Hollingsworth.

Most improved Color Guard: Jada Brown and Jennifer Ventura.

Outstanding rookie Color Guard award: Jennifer Ventura, Megan Hoppes and Whitley Walton.

Outstanding Color Guard member award (not captains):  Madison Ackley, Kimberleigh Mattingly and Tatyana West.

Marching band most improved (rookie): Jacob Brey, Olivia Griffith, Sharon Perez, and Ignacio Rubalcava.

Marching band most improved (upperclassmen): Amelia DeSanto, Alexis Mattingly, Mason Ordone, Brenda Ponce, Janiah Reese, Clayton Timble, Dante Zawadzki

Percussion most improved: Luke Pehlman

Concert band most improved: Marco Acevedo, Tristen Arkenau, Kayla Barlow, Ethan Downs, Alec Irwin, Navi Neal, Emily Nevins.

Jazz band most improved: Andrew Marcou and Andrew de las Alas.

Outstanding jazz improvisers: Gabe Tice, Andrew Marcou, Nolan Clark and Rory Fitzgerald.

B.A.T. (Big Awesome Truck service award):  Patrick Downey, Connor Gianoli, Ben Irwin, Nick Rodecap

Outstanding rookie percussion member: Mic Cavosie

Outstanding percussion (dedication and service): Connor Gianoli and Andrew Marcou.

Outstanding percussion (marching): Will Mayer.

Outstanding percussion (performance): Andrew Marcou.

Outstanding senior percussionist: Aaron Cotton.

Outstanding marching/music section: Antonio Arroyo, Joshua Bean, Derrius Fisher, Trey Heyward, Zachary Hopkins, Alec Irwin, Benjamin Irwin, Joseph Khonwai, Ethan Lamar, Jaden Lee, James Legg, Navi Neal, Mason Ordone, Edwin Perez, Sharon Perez, Miyanah Perry, Brenda Ponce, Nicholas Rodecap and Ignacio Rubalcava (saxophones).

Outstanding concert/music section: Antonio Arroyo, Zachary Hopkins, Benjamin Irwin and Nicholas Rodecap (tenor/baritone saxophones).

Outstanding pep/music section: Aaron Cotton, Benjamin Munoz, John Chandler, Connor Gianoli, Ava Keller, Andrew Marcou, Whitley Walton, Ben Cho, Will Mayer, Mic Cavosie, Erick Diaz, Caden Jackson, Andrew Michael and Luke Pehlman (percussion).

Outstanding rookie marchers: Antonio Arroyo, Jacob Brey, Zach Hopkins, Caroline Keltner, Micah Wasmuth

Outstanding upperclass marchers: Kayla Barlow, Joshua Bean, Derrius Fisher, Trey Heyward, Gabriel Keltner, Joseph Khonwai, Andrew Marcou, Will Mayer, Emily Nevins, Jacob Overstreet, Edwin Perez, Nicholas Rodecap and Katie Timble.

Outstanding section leaders: Andrew Marcou, Annabella McGinley-King and Jacob Overstreet.

Drum majors: Chloe Miller and Gabriel Tice.

NBA Indiana All-Star Marching Band: Chloe Miller, Nicholas Rodecap, Gabriel Tice and Micah Wasmuth.

ISSMA State Solo and Ensemble: Andrew Marcou, Chloe Miller, Emily Nevins, Gabriel Tice and Katie Timble.

IJE Indiana All-State Jazz Band: Gabriel Tice.

Outstanding musicians: Freshmen Mic Cavosie, Charlie Haas, Gemma Kaiser, Joseph Jideonwo and Micah Wasmuth; sophomores Amelia DeSanto, Will Mayer and Nicholas Rodecap; juniors Andrew Marcou, Chloe Miller, Emily Nevins, Gabriel Tice and Katie Timble; seniors Claudia Darnell and Ben Irwin

CHS Band Booster scholarship: Claudia Darnell

Mental attitude award: Andrew Marcou

John Philip Sousa award: Claudia Darnell